Page 1 of 1

Bug?: can not set a ports restart voltage from SSH

Posted: Sat May 05, 2018 12:34 am
by jackkirk
I have a WS-8-150-DC running 1.4.9 F at a remote location.

I have been experimenting with interfacing to it with Putty/SSH over the internet - and got it working suprisingly easily.

Except I can't change the restart voltage (aka Power/Power Up in the GUI) of a port.

The following is a mildly edited version of the SSH dialog:




login as: admin
admin@111.222.333.4444's password:

BusyBox v1.19.4 (2017-03-07 13:42:37 EST) built-in shell (ash)
Enter 'help' for a list of built-in commands.

Netonix Switch# config
Netonix Switch(config)# interface port 4
Netonix Switch(port 4)# power ?

restart_voltage When the input voltage is above this value the port will be turned back on
shutdown_voltage If the input voltage falls below this value the port will be turned off

Netonix Switch(port 4)# power restart_voltage 12
% This can only be set on DC models
Netonix Switch(port 4)# exit
Netonix Switch(config)# exit
% Applying configuration...
Press ENTER to confirm configuration change. If you do not hit enter within 60 seconds the switch will revert to the previous configuration.

Netonix Switch#


I'm guessing the message "% This can only be set on DC models" has something to do with it - but the WS-8-150-DC is DC!

Any help appreciated - I have a use for this capability if I can get it to work.

Thanks...

Re: Bug?: can not set a ports restart voltage from SSH

Posted: Mon May 07, 2018 11:28 am
by Stephen
jackkirk wrote:I have a WS-8-150-DC running 1.4.9 F at a remote location.

I have been experimenting with interfacing to it with Putty/SSH over the internet - and got it working suprisingly easily.

Except I can't change the restart voltage (aka Power/Power Up in the GUI) of a port.

The following is a mildly edited version of the SSH dialog:




login as: admin
admin@111.222.333.4444's password:

BusyBox v1.19.4 (2017-03-07 13:42:37 EST) built-in shell (ash)
Enter 'help' for a list of built-in commands.

Netonix Switch# config
Netonix Switch(config)# interface port 4
Netonix Switch(port 4)# power ?

restart_voltage When the input voltage is above this value the port will be turned back on
shutdown_voltage If the input voltage falls below this value the port will be turned off

Netonix Switch(port 4)# power restart_voltage 12
% This can only be set on DC models
Netonix Switch(port 4)# exit
Netonix Switch(config)# exit
% Applying configuration...
Press ENTER to confirm configuration change. If you do not hit enter within 60 seconds the switch will revert to the previous configuration.

Netonix Switch#


I'm guessing the message "% This can only be set on DC models" has something to do with it - but the WS-8-150-DC is DC!

Any help appreciated - I have a use for this capability if I can get it to work.

Thanks...



I've been able to replicate this scenario connected via ssh and directly on the console. This is a bug and it has been added to the list of things we will fix. Keep an eye on the change logs in the near future. In the mean time it appears it still works from the web UI in the Power tab for the WS-8-150-DC, if you can access it you should be able to do what you need to do from there.

Re: Bug?: can not set a ports restart voltage from SSH

Posted: Mon May 07, 2018 11:14 pm
by jackkirk
Stephen,

Thanks for your reply...