Page 1 of 1

Attempting to reestablish communication

Posted: Fri Feb 14, 2020 11:00 pm
by mike99
I have a switch that was working fine and suddently, I always get the message "Attempting to reestablish communication with the device ...". I tryed with 3 broswer (Brave, Chrome and Firefox), all with the same result.
Firmware is 1.5.2. I know, I should upgrade but you must also not fix what is not broken and it's not always easy to update a device on a backbone. Now, it's broken but I wonder if ther're something I can do from ssh to fix it. I tryed to restart lighthttpd but the're still the same error.

Re: Attempting to reestablish communication

Posted: Sat Feb 15, 2020 5:59 pm
by Stephen
If you can access the switch from ssh, then do so and run the following commands:
Code: Select all
cmd
arping -U $(ifconfig | grep -Eo 'inet (addr:)?([0-9]*\.){3}[0-9]*' | grep -Eo '([0-9]*\.){3}[0-9]*' | grep -v '127.0.0.1') -c 3

(I'd recommend copying and pasting that last line)

Post here if that helps.

Re: Attempting to reestablish communication

Posted: Wed Feb 19, 2020 12:35 am
by mike99
The command seem to broke because I also have an IP address on a VLAN and the arping receive 2 IP address back to back.

Anyway, the switch management IP address don't answer to arpping and and pinging it don't fix my issue. Also, I'm not locally accessing the switch so it can be an arp table issue. Finally, if it was an arp issue, ssh would also not work and I would have to pass through the console port. Finally, I can login to the switch, the connection issue message is shown only after I login.

Digging a littile more, I can still login and log out. I can go to the different tab but not everything work. I can see device config and mac address but not device status and the status tab don't work. The web console (CLI) work fine. The ERPS ans Power tab return several error as soon as I enter the device. It also show this error message at bottom (With the WS-8-150-DC you should never allow the battery bank to drop below 9.5V for normal operation.) while the device is as WS12-250-AC.

Through the browser developper console, I saw the following error

Code: Select all
 knockout-3.1.0.js:60 Uncaught TypeError: Unable to process binding "foreach: function(){return Ports }"
Message: Unable to process binding "text: function(){return I18n.translate(getSTPState($index())) }"
Message: Cannot read property 'MSTI' of undefined
 at getSTPState (main.html:2911)
 at text (eval at parseBindingsString (knockout-3.1.0.js:56), <anonymous>:3:79)
 at update (knockout-3.1.0.js:76)
 at a.h.G (knockout-3.1.0.js:60)
 at h (knockout-3.1.0.js:40)
 at Object.a.ba.a.h (knockout-3.1.0.js:42)
 at knockout-3.1.0.js:60
 at Object.r (knockout-3.1.0.js:8)
 at k (knockout-3.1.0.js:59)
 at h (knockout-3.1.0.js:57)


I'm not a developper but I'm under impression it's only the javascript that is broken.

I will maybe try I network capture tomorrow if I have some time to work on this.

Re: Attempting to reestablish communication

Posted: Wed Feb 19, 2020 4:06 pm
by Stephen
That error and the other issue's you're describing suggest that the config on this switch is corrupted. Your best bet right now is probably to default the device, then verify when it's been defaulted that you have all the functionality back on the switch. Then rebuild the config in the web UI.