1. Can we get SNMP v1 enabled? Our monitoring software scans the network and adds/updates devices based on information obtained from SNMP. Ubiquiti devices only support SNMP v1 while Mikrotik supports v1 and v2c. Our monitoring software scans using v1 so we can cover all devices, but now with Netonix devices only supporting v2c we aren't able to monitor everything properly.
2. sysName always displays OpenWrt. Can we get it to display the switch name? That's handy for us because is shows the name in our monitoring software. It seems like it did in one of the earlier firmware versions, but it put underscores in place of spaces and changed everything to lowercase.
3. I'm not seeing the enterprise number show up for sysObjectID on firmware version 1.3.1 and I see it was added in 1.3.0
Thanks.
SNMP Requests
- SnotRocket
- Member
- Posts: 6
- Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2015 11:03 am
- Location: Missouri
- Has thanked: 0 time
- Been thanked: 0 time
-
sirhc - Employee
- Posts: 7416
- Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2014 3:48 pm
- Location: Lancaster, PA
- Has thanked: 1608 times
- Been thanked: 1325 times
Re: SNMP Requests
As far as v1 some people complained it was a security hole so we took it out.
Although I suppose we could make v1 support require an enable option, Eric would be better to answer that question.
As far as the other issues Eric would be better to answer them as well, I will link this thread to him
Although I suppose we could make v1 support require an enable option, Eric would be better to answer that question.
As far as the other issues Eric would be better to answer them as well, I will link this thread to him
Support is handled on the Forums not in Emails and PMs.
Before you ask a question use the Search function to see it has been answered before.
To do an Advanced Search click the magnifying glass in the Search Box.
To upload pictures click the Upload attachment link below the BLUE SUBMIT BUTTON.
Before you ask a question use the Search function to see it has been answered before.
To do an Advanced Search click the magnifying glass in the Search Box.
To upload pictures click the Upload attachment link below the BLUE SUBMIT BUTTON.
-
Eric Stern - Employee
- Posts: 532
- Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2014 9:41 pm
- Location: Toronto, Ontario
- Has thanked: 0 time
- Been thanked: 130 times
Re: SNMP Requests
SnotRocket wrote:1. Can we get SNMP v1 enabled? Our monitoring software scans the network and adds/updates devices based on information obtained from SNMP. Ubiquiti devices only support SNMP v1 while Mikrotik supports v1 and v2c. Our monitoring software scans using v1 so we can cover all devices, but now with Netonix devices only supporting v2c we aren't able to monitor everything properly.
2. sysName always displays OpenWrt. Can we get it to display the switch name? That's handy for us because is shows the name in our monitoring software. It seems like it did in one of the earlier firmware versions, but it put underscores in place of spaces and changed everything to lowercase.
3. I'm not seeing the enterprise number show up for sysObjectID on firmware version 1.3.1 and I see it was added in 1.3.0
Thanks.
Does the monitoring software not support v2c as well? I find that surprising. v2c isn't exactly new.
If it really doesn't I guess I can add v1 back as an option. I can put in a version selection option, with v2c as the default.
sysName should show up as the name of the switch as set on the Device Configuration page. I just checked and mine does this. I tested this with SnmpB and The Dude.
sysObjectID does not show our enterprise number because it is not part of the Netonix MIB, it belongs to the standard SNMP MIB-2 mib.
- SnotRocket
- Member
- Posts: 6
- Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2015 11:03 am
- Location: Missouri
- Has thanked: 0 time
- Been thanked: 0 time
Re: SNMP Requests
My monitoring software (Zabbix) has support for versions 1, 2c, and 3, but I use network discovery rules to find devices and automatically add them and attach them to templates with monitoring rules. The discovery SNMP agent I'm using is v1 since Ubiquiti only supports v1. I 'm sure with some modification I could work around it, but it may be a moot point... more below. The sysName started working after I set factory defaults (maybe I should have changed the name in the webif first though).
So I did a little more digging and here's what I found...
When I do a version 2c walk I see this:
A version 1 walk doesn't work. Notice the sysObjectID is blank. I need the sysObjectID to assign Netonix switches to the appropriate monitoring templates automatically since I do this by manufacturer and other SNMP objects.
So I killed the mini_snmpd process and changed a couple of command line arguments...
Removing "-a" allows version 1 and 2c to both work. Adding "-V .1.3.6.1.4.1.46242" sets the sysObjectID value. Here are my walk results now (v1 and v2c):
If we could get these changes made in the firmware it would really help with monitoring. Also, it would be great if the sysName value could be returned with the original spaces since we use this to identify devices in our monitoring software. I don't see any way to configure that in mini_snmpd since it uses the system hostname. Maybe the system hostname could include original spaces?
So I did a little more digging and here's what I found...
When I do a version 2c walk I see this:
- Code: Select all
# snmpwalk -v2c -c private -O e 10.0.22.231
SNMPv2-MIB::sysDescr.0 = STRING:
SNMPv2-MIB::sysObjectID.0 = OID: SNMPv2-SMI::enterprises
DISMAN-EVENT-MIB::sysUpTimeInstance = Timeticks: (6177) 0:01:01.77
SNMPv2-MIB::sysContact.0 = STRING: Admin
SNMPv2-MIB::sysName.0 = STRING: COM_Netonix_Switch
SNMPv2-MIB::sysLocation.0 = STRING: COM
...
A version 1 walk doesn't work. Notice the sysObjectID is blank. I need the sysObjectID to assign Netonix switches to the appropriate monitoring templates automatically since I do this by manufacturer and other SNMP objects.
So I killed the mini_snmpd process and changed a couple of command line arguments...
- Code: Select all
# killall mini_snmpd
# mini_snmpd -d /jffs -c public -C "Some Admin" -V .1.3.6.1.4.1.46242 -D "Netonix Switch" -L "Tower XYZ[b]"[/b]
Removing "-a" allows version 1 and 2c to both work. Adding "-V .1.3.6.1.4.1.46242" sets the sysObjectID value. Here are my walk results now (v1 and v2c):
- Code: Select all
# snmpwalk -v2c -c public -O e 10.0.22.231
SNMPv2-MIB::sysDescr.0 = STRING: Netonix Switch
SNMPv2-MIB::sysObjectID.0 = OID: NETONIX-SWITCH-MIB::netonixSwitch
DISMAN-EVENT-MIB::sysUpTimeInstance = Timeticks: (7442) 0:01:14.42
SNMPv2-MIB::sysContact.0 = STRING: Some Admin
SNMPv2-MIB::sysName.0 = STRING: COM_Netonix_Switch
SNMPv2-MIB::sysLocation.0 = STRING: Tower XYZ
...
# snmpwalk -v1 -c public -O e 10.0.22.231
SNMPv2-MIB::sysDescr.0 = STRING: Netonix Switch
SNMPv2-MIB::sysObjectID.0 = OID: NETONIX-SWITCH-MIB::netonixSwitch
DISMAN-EVENT-MIB::sysUpTimeInstance = Timeticks: (23548) 0:03:55.48
SNMPv2-MIB::sysContact.0 = STRING: Some Admin
SNMPv2-MIB::sysName.0 = STRING: COM_Netonix_Switch
SNMPv2-MIB::sysLocation.0 = STRING: Tower XYZ
...
If we could get these changes made in the firmware it would really help with monitoring. Also, it would be great if the sysName value could be returned with the original spaces since we use this to identify devices in our monitoring software. I don't see any way to configure that in mini_snmpd since it uses the system hostname. Maybe the system hostname could include original spaces?
- SnotRocket
- Member
- Posts: 6
- Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2015 11:03 am
- Location: Missouri
- Has thanked: 0 time
- Been thanked: 0 time
Re: SNMP Requests
A selection in the webif would be great for people who want to manually specify the SNMP version.
-
Eric Stern - Employee
- Posts: 532
- Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2014 9:41 pm
- Location: Toronto, Ontario
- Has thanked: 0 time
- Been thanked: 130 times
- scott@airgrids.com
- Member
- Posts: 11
- Joined: Sat May 21, 2016 5:05 pm
- Has thanked: 5 times
- Been thanked: 1 time
Re: SNMP Requests
SnotRocket (or anyone else) - Would you be willing to share your zabbix-templates for the Netonix switch? I looks like I could find an MIB reader, install, and try to construct the templates myself. But I was hoping to download a working template like I found for Mikrotik and UBNT. It would be much appreciated.
- scott@airgrids.com
- Member
- Posts: 11
- Joined: Sat May 21, 2016 5:05 pm
- Has thanked: 5 times
- Been thanked: 1 time
Re: SNMP Requests
Ok. I spent some time learning enough about MIBs, zabbix, templates and snmp to be dangerous. Here are the Zabbix templates I'm using. I hope it helps someone out there.
Zabbix 3.2NetonixTemplate
Zabbix 3.2NetonixTemplate
8 posts
Page 1 of 1
Who is online
Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 80 guests